Iowa Playlist Updates: May 2023

Based in Cedar Rapids, villin curates several different Iowa music playlists, with new music dropping weekly. Here are the updates from this past month…

Iowa Beats & Bars Playlist: The playlist was updated with 40 tracks last month, featuring rap & hip-hop from Iowa, including alternative, beats, boom bap, instrumentals, old school, trap & more.

xco$mox “Star Lord”
TheZeffsterr “Full Time”
64Cityy “Exotic”
K Roll “Get Through It”
Dead Silent “Molotov (La La La)”
T.O.T feat. Jeremy Kyle “Wanna Know”
Aquatic Cat Dolphin “Heaven on Earth” (prod. by FALAK)
HU$H feat. Tech N9ne & X-Raided “Dulli”
Vitamjn “ROTATE!” (prod. by NiceMeme$ound)
Gunner B feat. Psychedelic Sidekick “Hit A Mil”
Sqvce “ballin again”
Diggy Danja feat. Raife “CandyLand”
VSA CHXCKY 333 “MARATHON” (prod. by Loyal the Plug)
Phäräoh feat. Courter “Want You”
Rome Oliver feat. Naj & Bigg P “Somebody”
lui* “do the oath with me”
Trap Garage Mafia “Feds Knocking”
Buddha 2x feat. K Roll “Out the Way (remix)”
L-Fazo “GLE”
(May 22, 2023 Update / Pictured: xco$mox)

Tripp Shelton “Mean Girls”
Jammin’ Alone “Right Now”
Jose the MC & Elynt “Summer Has Arrived”
Aubs. & Dirt Nasty Beats “Cascade Garden Freestyle.”
Imperfekt feat. Fooch the MC & Colorless “Front to Back”
Dead Silent “2032”
Tha Füt “Stay High”
Poezy feat. Benny the Jet “Tequila”
Teller Bank$ & Ed Glorious “The Heart”
Xavy Rusan feat. Tilden Parc & Katori Walker “Silent”
B.Well feat. Annie Kemble “Slightly Broken Hearted”
GrewSum & Jimmy Donn “Broken”
DubYou “Cursed”
Rome Oliver feat. Naj “Radio Silence”
Gifted Hands feat. Klazik “How You Make It”
TJ & Novet “Extra”
CEO MUZIK “Dangerous”
MG Moeski “Highs & Lows”
(May 7, 2023 Update / Pictured: Aubs.)

Listen via…

Rehtek Iowa Metal Band

Loud & Heavy Iowa Playlist: The playlist was updated with 20 tracks, featuring metal from Iowa, including thrash, groove, doom, stoner rock, post-hardcore, death metal, grindcore and more.

Green Death “Desmodus”
Onetheless feat. Covey Tratchel “Onibaba”
Idolist “Garden of Fear”
The Horde “Battle Cry”
Tranzig “Car Mosh”
Too Pure To Die “Death of Innocence”
The August Guns “Victories”
Modern Life is War “By the Sea”
Mourning Veil “Nihilistic Exponent”
Blizzard at Sea “Closed Universe”
Shatterbone “Off the Rail”
Sludgeplow “Assgrinder”
Sexually Aggressive Silverbacks “Punching Nazis”
Unity “Afterlife”
Rehtek “Abomination”
Alter Within “Die in Vain”
ARCHIVES “Sanity’s End”
Radicalizer “Civil War II: Nuclear Boogaloo”
Juehring “Rise”
White Death “The Sea is Asleep”
(May 8, 2023 Update / Pictured: Rehtek)

Listen via…

Allegra Hernandez Iowa Band

Iowa Alt/Punk Playlist: The playlist was updated with 20 tracks, featuring noise from the Iowa underground, including punk, garage, psych, hardcore, post-punk, pop punk, emo, alt. rock, and more.

Bigby Woods “Werewolf Prom Night”
Stars Hollow “As You Were Before.”
Allegra Hernandez “Dumpster Fire on Douglas”
Melody English “Back To You”
Skinny Dippers & Holding Hour “Icarus Emerged (Alt Version)”
Greg Wheeler and the Poly Mall Cops “MANIC FEVER”
The Horrors “Sooner or Later”
Liana “The Silver Key”
To My Surprise “Get It to Go”
HU$H “99 Cents 4 Life”
404 “Overloaded”
CR Dicks “What Kind”
Display Case “Redacted”
SLW cc Watt “Something Lost”
Paul Cary & the Small Scarys “Come Back Down”
Los Marauders “Mercy”
Tough Ghost “Cold Nights”
Muldoon’s Clever Girls “Frosted Flakes”
The Wheelers “Dan”
Look @ Me “Washed Out Stain”
(May 30, 2023 Update / Pictured: Allegra Hernandez)

Listen via…

Iowa Rock Playlist: The playlist was updated with 40 tracks, featuring rock from Iowa, including indie, pop, folk, roots, blues, and more.

Melody English “Parasite”
Keuning “If You Say So”
Sires “Deep in the Dark”
Bridget Kearney “Capable”
Max Jury “Peace of Mind”
Lex Leto “I love you”
Lily DeTaeye “100 Cuts”
The Vahnevants “Dixie Flyer”
Courtney Krause “Follow”
Tom Hummer “Wringer”
Kelly Pardekooper “Johnson County Snow”
Neil Anders “All Wrong”
Julie Christiensen “Gatling Gun”
Sarah Darling “Pretender”
Brian Johannesen “Fremont”
Juehring “Evenin’ blues”
Preacher Boy “Cornbread”
Crystal City “Rock & Roll Coffee”
The Nadas “Other Side of the 45”
Condor & Jaybird “Lightbringer VII”
(May 29, 2023 Update / Pictured: Max Jury)

Annalibera “Coquette”
Ariias “Mosquito Bites”
Pieta Brown “Wishes Falling Through the Rain”
Bo Ramsey “Can’t Sleep”
Riff Worm “Feels”
Karen Meat “Pizza & Beer”
Brother Trucker “I Like It”
Jordan Mayland “Lie Detector”
Holly & the Night Owls “His Secret”
Perfume Genius “Describe”
Christian Lief “If I Could”
Sophie Mitchell feat. New World Vulture “Purple & Red”
Early Girl “Sawhorse Sweetie”
New Age Crisis “Voodoo”
Doctor Murdock “March to the Meaninglessness”
Miss Christine “Profound”
Strong Like Bear “The Breezeway”
The Nadas “Love Divided”
Flavor Basket “Gummy Bear”
The Slats “I Wrote the Code”
(May 12, 2023 Update / Pictured: Annalibera)

Listen via…

Bridget Kearney Iowa Musician Singer

Iowa Pop Vibes Playlist: The playlist was updated with 20 tracks, featuring pop music from Iowa, including dance, electropop, lounge, R&B, soul, and more.

Bridget Kearney “So Badly”
HU$H “Into the Sun”
Ted When “Nothing Left”
Jarret Purdy & Lex Leto “Rainwalker”
Courtney Krause “S L O W D A N C I N ‘”
Annalibera “Sanctuary”
Maids “Bandits”
Brad & Kate “Sleep Talking (Kyler Boss House Edition)”
Perfume Genius “Queen”
BN WhoIAm “Tongues”
Miss223 “Moonflower”
Pyko Da Syko feat. Lieu “Perrydise”
Claimz “Brendo”
Bonne Finken “U Never Knew”
Holly & the Night Owls “Counting the Seams”
Lady Revel “Change Your Mind”
Teri Underhill “Magic Man”
Unknown Component “Within the Inertia of an Approximate Vicinity”
Nate Ruess “Harsh Light”
Wet Hair “Dear Danae”
(May 23, 2023 Update / Pictured: Bridget Kearney)

Listen via…

Colin Cook Iowa Electronic DJ EDM

Electronic Iowa Playlist: The playlist was updated with 20 tracks, featuring electronic and dance music from Iowa, including drum & bass, EDM, glitch, house, progressive, trance and more.

Neon Dawn “Nightbreed”
Blookah “The Proof”
Ursus “The Journey”
Husoul “Rotting the ether”
Sinner Frenz “Disconnect”
Tires “EP3 – Ten”
Shikimo “Daydream”
Young Hawk IA “Galactic Vibrations”
Phoenix Novatron “mellow”
IAMGIFTED “plutonic landing”
PARTÎ feat. Ketamonster “Happiness”
Colin Cook “Until the Lights Come On”
Nicky Rage “Bounce”
Prophet of Jupiter “Pax Atomica”
Fyoomz “Invisible Touch”
Flex Bormarr “Preferred Protein”
Slow 404 “Do Your Thing (Yeah)”
Chaircrusher “Giving”
Bodiah “Relic Pain”
Stovetop “Exhale (Postlude)”
(May 14, 2023 Update / Pictured: Colin Cook)

Listen via…

Love Sculpture Pappajohn Park Des Moines

Ethereal Iowa Playlist: The playlist was updated with 20 tracks, featuring ambient, classical, instrumentals and other chill vibes from Iowa.

William Campbell “Invitation”
Phoenix Novatron “December fourth4hhhh 01”
Dan Padley “C Dispatch”
Dueling Fiddles “Adagio for Strings”
Aleodeology “Explaining the Universe to a Child”
Orobadion “Moon of Opal”
Young Hawk IA “fish music”
Claimz “OOO”
Perfume Genius “No Problem”
Bo Ramsey “Out Here”
For Today “Instrumental”
Al Naylor “You Are My Love”
86plot “Identity”
Greg the Hero “Sleep”
Shining Realm “Phantom Caravan”
Barry Phipps “Modular One Number Nine”
Naughts “Unknowns”
Fawlty “Welcome Back”
Pollinators “Sunlight Creeps In”
Dividing the Masses “Needless to Say”
(May 14, 2023 Update / Pictured: Pappajohn Sculpture Park)

Listen via…